(Project 1) | Menagerie VS. Ambiguous Space

A tough question when first thought of… As a lot of good ideas come to mind when pondering both topics. However, my mind gently leans towards Menagerie. Purely for the fact that I have never been assigned to do a project like it, primarily due to working more in a graphic design and advertising focus based more on a business / selling aspect of design. I am ecstatic to be able to go away from that business / selling focus a bit, and finally able to just make some cool stuff! (hopefully)

(inspiration below)

I keep up on a lot of artists that I like using Instagram, Tumblr, and random other sites. But the artist’s that I thought of the most when thinking about creating a character line were primarily from Instagram.

Those being,

@Craig.Gleason
Craig Gleason
(art below) primarily using graphite, ink, and marker.

screen-shot-2017-01-18-at-10-35-32-amscreen-shot-2017-01-18-at-10-37-52-am

@Ugly_Ink
Sam Moore
(art below) primarily using ink, and marker.screen-shot-2017-01-18-at-10-39-44-amscreen-shot-2017-01-18-at-10-39-33-am

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

@willpacheco88

William Pacheco
(below) Tattoo artist.
(one of my personal favorite tattoo artists) | Super simple, yet extremely interesting.

Screen Shot 2017-01-18 at 10.32.30 AM.png

Screen Shot 2017-01-18 at 10.32.59 AM.png

Lately my “doodles” and sketches have been formulating more of a mysterious people dynamic which I quite enjoy. (another factor that made me lean towards formulating characters)

(earlier mentioned “doodles” below)

scanned-image-1

Scanned Image.jpg

I think that going in a direction more towards, a possible (North, South, East, West) or (earth, fire, water, wind) guardians of some sort.

Or a group of bad guys of sorts, like the bad guys club above (Craig Gleason).

Stay tuned…

More to come, next week.

Leave a comment